Tom Huntley

Lining up for indoor glory bowls

THE Bowls Queensland qualifying rounds for the Women's Australian Indoor Championships begin today at four clubs across South-east Queensland with five qualifying places up for grabs in the final field of 32.

Qualifying is held across all Australian states and territories to fill the 30 allocated places in the final field of 32, including defending 2012 champion Karen Murphy and the 2013 Australian Open winner Lisa Phillips.

From a total of 47 entries in the women's field, Mooloolaba has 14 entries, Paradise Point 12, Tweed 11 and Pine Rivers 10, which means two women will qualify from Mooloolaba.

Although the numbers of women entering may be lower then in previous years, the quality stands out with previous winner in 2003 Di Cunnington (Tweed Heads) drawn against former State Singles and former Tweed Heads teammate Lyn Cuthbertson (Broadbeach) in the section of three along with Selina Goddard.

Section 2 stands out as the toughest with state players Sue McKenzie (Broadbeach), Kristy Thatcher (Tweed Heads), former State Pairs champion Ellen Joselin and Claire McGrath (Kawana).

The 2005 Australian Indoor Champion, Maria Rigby, makes a welcome return to Tweed Heads and fronts up to qualifying tough competitor Wendy Wilson and regular PBA bowler June Beverley (Tugun) and Donna Clarke (Tweed Heads)

With only one qualifier from this strong field of 11 ladies at Tweed Heads Indoor today, selecting a section winner is hard enough let alone saying who will win the section play-offs for the sole allocated qualifying spot for the Australian Indoor Championship (July 29 to August 1) at Tweed Heads.

While the women play indoor this weekend, the men play at the Burleigh Classic Fours event over three days and then front up for qualifying rounds next weekend over two days - June 15 and 16.

With a field of 32 men divided into eight sections of four, the quality is again very high. Section winners play a semi-final and the final to determine one qualifying spot and same again for sections five to eight.

Former winners Brett Wilkie and Kelvin Kerkow have entered qualifying at the Paradise Point venue, and will have to play off if both win their sections.

The field of 69 men has entered the qualifying rounds with 32 men playing off at Tweed Heads, 15 men at Paradise Point, 12 at Mooloolaba and 12 entries at Pine Rivers.

It's mind over matter as league tackles mental health

It's mind over matter as league tackles mental health

Raiders launch inaugural State of Mind nines tournament

Gig guide: what's on this week

Gig guide: what's on this week

Find out what's on this week around the coast.

Titans brimming with Tweed talent

Titans brimming with Tweed talent

Four local players keen for improved season

Local Partners