Motor racing legend Sir Jack Brabham, who was Formula One champion in 1959, 1960 and 1966.
Motor racing legend Sir Jack Brabham, who was Formula One champion in 1959, 1960 and 1966. Tweed Daily News

Speeding into history

TWEED-based Australian Walk of Fame is revving its engines ahead of Repco Rally Australia, with legends of motor sports set for induction.

Five-time motorcycle world champion Mick Doohan, Grand Prix motor racer Sir Jack Brabham, V8 driver Dick Johnson and former NRMA president Alan Evans will be inducted during the upcoming Australian leg of the World Rally Championships and Speed on Tweed.

Walk of Fame chairman Phil Villiers said each inductee had a long list of accomplishments.

“This has been coming along for a while now,” Mr Villiers said.

“It's an appropriate setting considering we have the rally and Speed on Tweed on at the same time.”

Former Olympic swimmer Dawn Fraser will be the patron for both events.

“She knows everyone being inducted and she sits on the NRMA board with Alan. It will be a nice reunion for her,” Mr Villiers said.

Sir Brabham and Mr Johnson will be inducted during Speed on Tweed in Murwillumbah while Mr Doohan and Mr Evans will be inducted during the rally. No official dates or venues have been confirmed.

Mr Villiers had nothing but kind words for the future inductees.

“Sir Jack is a lively legend and who, along with Lady Brabham, will be guests of the Speed on Tweed,” Mr Villiers said.

“Dick is one of the most successful V8 touring car drivers that Australia has seen in the last 30 years. It will be great to have him join Peter Brock and Harry Firth.

Sir Brabham, Mr Johnson and Mr Doohan will be inducted into the sports category and Mr Evans into the business wing.

Mr Doohan has been inducted into the Australian Sporting Hall of Fame three times and was awarded an Order of Australia medal in 1996.

Sir Brabham was the first driver in history to be knighted for his services for motor sport. This year he celebrates the 50th anniversary of his first world championship win in the UK.

Mr Johnson is a five-time Australian Touring Car Champion and three-time Bathurst 1000 winner.

He has more than 20 awards and honours including the V8 Supercar Hall of Fame.

Mr Evans was the president of NRMA from 2003 to 2008 but continues to sit as a director. He is the current chairman of Rally Australia.

Space-age reaches the Tweed

Space-age reaches the Tweed

Unique Duranbah Hill home nears completion.

Tweed rallies to help sick Caitlin

Tweed rallies to help sick Caitlin

Can you spare a few dollars?

Local Partners